Rob Barrow, a current board member of Strate, has been appointed the chairman of the company’s Board, effective 4 November 2016.


Monica Singer, Strate’s CEO, welcomes the appointment of Barrow. “Rob has a wealth of expertise and knowledge spanning more than two decades in the capital markets and he has served rob-barrowon Strate’s board as a director for a number of years. I look forward to working with him in his new role as our chairman.” Barrow’s work history includes being the Executive and Deputy Executive Officer at the Financial Services Board, where he was responsible for the regulation and supervision of the South African non-banking financial services industries. Prior to this role, he was the Director of Surveillance at the JSE.


Barrow succeeds Bobby Johnston.


Singer says, “I am truly grateful for the role Bobby has played, not only as Strate’s chairman for the past five years, but also since Strate’s inception. He played a key role in lobbying the market to move to electronic settlement in the early days of Strate. He has been my mentor for the past two decades and his knowledge has been a great asset to this company. Going forward, I am pleased to have his continued involvement as a consultant to Strate.”


While Johnston was appointed chairman in 2011, he was closely involved in Strate when it was a project in 1996. He became a non-executive director of Strate when the company was formed in 1998.


Strate’s current Board comprises 14 directors, and 2 alternate directors, who are as follows:



Mr Robert Barrow (Chairman)

Ms Monica Singer (CEO, Executive Director)

Ms Ashnee Maharaj (CFO, Executive Director)

Ms Alicia Greenwood

Mr Chris Edwards

Ms Daisy Naidoo

Mr Keith Getz

Mr Leon Campher



Ms Marilyn Ramplin

Mr Murray Stocks

Ms Nicky Newton-King

Mr Nigel Payne

Mr Raymond Ndlovu

Mr Russell Loubser


Alternate Directors

Mr Charl Bruyns

Mr Ryan Proudfoot




Recommended Posts